“Mom, I’m going to MIT.”

24 Sep
space_shuttle_launch

Wish me luck.

I’ve been determined to learn programming for some time now, but haven’t had any success teaching myself.  Most of the resources I’ve found have assumed I already know the basic concepts of programming which I don’t.  I was getting discouraged until I recently ran into MIT OpenCourseWare.  It turns out MIT has begun offering their courses for free online!  This is amazing.  I want to learn programming so that I can do all aspects of game development myself, and now I can sit in on a class (a freaking MIT class no less) and learn for free?!  Sign me up!

MIT 6.00 Eric Grimson

The MIT course I’m taking (that just sounds awesome) is 6.00 Introduction to Computer Science and Programming.

Useful Resource #2:  MI-freaking-T

OpenCourseWare classes typically include:

Syllabus

Readings

Lecture videos

Assignments

Exams

Knowledge

They do not include:

The ability to ask questions or get help

Credit or a grade for the class

Certificate or diploma

3 Responses to ““Mom, I’m going to MIT.””

  1. secretagentmartens October 2, 2009 at 1:27 am #

    this. is. awesome.

  2. r.kachowski November 11, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    this is great!

    • tedmartens November 12, 2009 at 12:29 am #

      Yeah, I was really pumped about it. However, I reached a point where I was supposed to do an assignment based on a class handout which wasn’t posted on the opencourseware site :(

      I need to email the MIT people about it, so thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

