Enemy Ship Process

3 Dec
enemy ships for assemblee compo

Enemy ship in 6 fruity flavors

I’ve finished up my art contributions for the Assemblee Compo, and this enemy ship was my last entry.  Wish I would’ve had more time to make environments, effects, and more enemies, but what can you do.  While creating the spaceships I figured out a method that worked pretty well for me, so I’ll share it here.  Hopefully someone else will find it handy.

I tried to focus on two things: symmetry and an interesting silhouette. In light of these, I chose an experimental digital sketching tool called Alchemy by Karl D.D. Willis and Jacob Hina.  It has a unique approach in that it alters what you draw in seemingly random ways that can result in creating a vision of something you might not have otherwise created.

spaceship sketches

Process stage I: Alchemy

I drew my spaceships using the ‘mirror’ and ‘microphone input’ features and set it to save and erase each drawing in 15 second intervals.  ‘Mirror’ gave it the live symmetry I wanted and the ‘microphone input’ feature alters the thickness of your lines according to sound volume going into your computer’s microphone (which is really cool to experiment with.  Play some music while drawing or just yell like a bastard).  The features ‘Autosave’ and ‘refresh canvas every 15 seconds’ force you to shotgun sketch a ton of possibilities.  Once I had 60 I brought a few into Photoshop, made some changes, and then drew in the details.

Enemy Ship Process

Stage II: Alterations and details in Photoshop

It was a pretty simple method overall.  I highly recommend Alchemy for visual brainstorming or just experimenting.

3 Responses to “Enemy Ship Process”

  1. greg December 3, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    very cool stuff Ted! I didn’t know you used alchemy for those guys, that’s a great idea.

    • tedmartens December 4, 2009 at 12:50 am #

      It was really useful for this, and I totally love the record and clear feature.

      You know what else live mirroring is great for? ROBOTS! A few of my ships turned out to be much better as robots. That’ll be my next Alchemy sketch session.

      skession? sketchion?

      …eww

  2. elliot April 19, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Awesome. Definitely sharing Alchemy with a lot of people now.

Leave a Reply

