My Laser Monster Game For Gamma 4

4 Feb

laser back

My submission for Gamma 4 (and my first solo game!) is in.  It’s definitely a prototype right now that I’m taking further and hope to release on a couple platforms.  It’s got classic arcade style gameplay that focuses on timing.  “Laser Monster Gondoko” was the name I chose for the Gamma submission, but I’ve already decided to change it.  I wanted to make up a unique word that will be attached to the character, but that’s just not the right one.  Hopefully it will become obvious as I make the game cooler.

Laser Back prototype teaser

A small teaser screenshot of my Gamma submission prototype. Click for full size.

Gamma is an annual game competition hosted by Kokoromi, an experimental game collective in Montreal run by Damien Di Fede, Phil Fish, Heather Kelley, Cindy Poremba.  This years Gamma 4 challenge revolves around creating games that are played with a single button. The chosen 5-7 games will be viewed and played at a party that bridges the end of the Independent Games Summit and the start of the main GDC.  Following the event, all the games will be playable in a dedicated booth on the GDC Expo floor.  The winners also recieve All-Access passes.

Programming for the Right Brained’ed

Game Maker turned out to be exactly what I needed to learn the logic and basics of programming.  I’m mostly using the drag and drop functions with a little bit of scripting, and it’s working out for me so far which is exciting the hell out of me.  Evan Balster and Beau Blyth are 2 really talented friends of mine that have given me coding tips when I’ve had questions.  Thanks a ton guys. I’ve been trying to read programming books and cram things into my head for months, but nothing has stuck until I started using Game Maker.  Now I’m learning the basics and realizing a little bit of what those boring books were talking about.  The turning point for me was asking my programer friends questions and also the GM tutorial “1945” by Mark Overmars.  I just opened the last tutorial file and started going through all the objects to see how they worked, so if you’re an artist having a hard time with programming like me then maybe this will work for you, too.  It’ll be a while still before I can do scripting or real grown up coding, but now I’m hopeful that I might actually be able to get there.

Laser Back Concept Drawing

Someone asked me how I made the concept drawing at the top of this post.  I sketched it large on a dry erase board first, took a photo with a friend’s iPhone, and then brought it in to Photoshop for coloring and adjusting.  This is the second time I’ve used a dry erase board sketch in a final drawing, and I kinda like the process.  I go into it knowing it’s temporary, so I don’t spend too much energy planning it out.  And redoing something is trivial.  This is original sketch.

laser back dry erase board sketch

Sketch of the laser monster on dry erase board before Photoshopifying.

Leave a Reply

