Drawing Activity – What do you see?

6 Sep

In college I took a class about creativity, and one of the topics we talked about was how our brains have a tendency to fill in missing parts of abstract things that we see. Seeing pictures in clouds is one example. You can take advantage of this by looking at photographs traced by someone else. Abstract or nature photos usually work the best.

I’ve traced one (above). You might not see anything in the picture, but if you do draw over top of it.

Continue reading to see some doodles or sketches by other people as well as the original photograph at the bottom (spoiler alert):

A dinosaur by Carl Douglas – @Cartoonosaurus

“I’m sure this is what most people saw. a giant fish eating a gianter mushroom.” Joseph Stevens – @splixel

“I saw a guy picking leaves out of his hair.” Ryan GTG ( @ganatronic )

“I see a rabbit-thing flying a plane” Tyler Glaiel – @tylerglaiel

I don’t usually see anything in photos I’ve traced myself, but this time I did.

Here’s the original photograph. The people in the picture would be easy to identify and might hinder imagination, so I cropped the photo to make it more abstract. Then I roughly traced the explosion.

original photograph by Jaipal Singh, EPA/Corbia

Try it out yourself. It works best with a group of people that trace a few photos each. National Geographic is a good place to look for photos. Good luck.

3 Responses to “Drawing Activity – What do you see?”

  1. Carl Douglas September 7, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    After making my doodle, all I see in that picture is my dinosaur safari engulfed in flame.

    Good activity, thanks for sharing!

  2. Fraulein September 24, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I see a pack of ravenous wolves devouring fresh meat. I might need psychological help.

  3. Ellie K December 24, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I saw a woman washing clothes by the side of a river, or a tub. Her skirt was long, and ruffled along the bottom, which was that ragged but slightly irregular edging at the bottom. She was facing away, kneeling, sort of squatting down, and bending forward.

    I’m not sure who is more in need, Fraulein (for seeing) the ravening wolves scene, or me, for seeing dirty clothes and laundry.

    Your hexagonally themed art is great! I just saw the fireplace (with correct attribution to y’all) on Google+ tonight. I also loved the pic of the server room in the footer. Sweet.

Leave a Reply

